Compiling a dataset of election results for Papua New Guinea has not been an easy task. I am grateful to the following people for the help they have provided.

I am grateful to the Papua New Guinea Electoral Commission, Jon Fraenkel, Bill Standish, Ron May, John Burton and Nicole Haley for sharing data with me. I owe a particular debt of gratitude to Jon Fraenkel, both for providing so much of the underlying data that this dataset is based on, and for providing excellent advice on my analysis of the data. I am also grateful to Bill Standish and David Hegarty for their ongoing advice. I’m grateful to Colin Filer for his help identifying a problem in an earlier iteration of the database. I’m very grateful to staff from the Australian Electoral Commission for providing me with contacts within the Papua New Guinea Electoral Commission.

I’m grateful to my colleague Tatia Currie for her help. I’m also very grateful to Ashlee Betteridge for her ability to weave website design wonders. I’m grateful to Wilma Gillies for her research assistance. I’m particularly grateful to Salwa Dastgeer for her data tidying and data analysis.

I’m grateful to Jack Corbett, the State Society and Governance in Melanesia program, and the Centre for Democratic Institutions for early support for this work. I am particularly grateful to Professor Stephen Howes and Michael Cookson of the Development Policy Centre for their enthusiastic, ongoing support of the project.

Finally, the Development Policy Centre gratefully acknowledges funding from the Australian Aid Program in support of the ANU-UPNG partnership.

Terence Wood