Australia unties aid for African food research

By Ashlee Betteridge and Robin Davies
23 July 2013

A new joint program of the Australian International Food Security Centre at the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR) and Canada’s International Development Research Centre (IDRC) is calling for proposals.

The CA$15 million Cultivate Africa’s Future (CultiAF) fund is a challenge program that aims to improve food security and promote agricultural development in sub-Saharan Africa.  It will allocate funds competitively to research initiatives which are relevant for improving post-harvest management, nutrition and water use, and have clear pathways to application.

Announced at the 2013 Africa Agricultural Science Week, the program will be managed by IDRC, with 50 per cent of its funding from ACIAR.

Research organisations from 10 countries – Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe – are eligible for grants of up to CA$3 million dollars each. The application guidelines note that applicants “may work in partnership with Canadian or Australian organisations but this is not a requirement.”

Traditionally, ACIAR projects have mandated the participation of Australian researchers (something Devpolicy criticised in its submission to the recent ACIAR review), so this is a welcome development.

About the author/s

Ashlee Betteridge
Ashlee Betteridge was the Manager of the Development Policy Centre until April 2021. She was previously a Research Officer at the centre from 2013-2017. A former journalist, she holds a Master of Public Policy (Development Policy) from ANU and has development experience in Indonesia and Timor-Leste. She now has her own consultancy, Better Things Consulting, and works across several large projects with managing contractors.

Robin Davies
Robin Davies was appointed Head of the Indo-Pacific Centre for Health Security at the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in September 2017. Previously, from 2013, he was the Associate Director of the Development Policy Centre and from mid-2014, concurrently an Honorary Professor at the Crawford School at ANU.

Page 1 of 1