Read “Introducing the PNG MP Database” by Stephen Howes and Thomas Wangi for an introduction to the Database.

Read “Fragmentation over the life of PNG’s current parliament” by Maholopa Laveil for analysis using the Database.


The list below explains a few terms in the main tables on the Data tab.

Re-elected: Yes if MP in previous parliament
No. of terms: No. of terms held in total including this parliament
Vote share: vote share after preferences
Category: This applies only to the end of the 10th Parliament. The categories are defined in relation to four points of time: formation of O’Neill government (August 2017); formation of Marape government (May 2019); attempted VoNC in Marape government (December 2020); current time. The categories are: Governmentalist (always in government); Loyal Marape supporter (in opposition until Marape became PM and then in government); Former Marape supporter (supported Marape for PM in 2019, but then supported the VoNC, and stayed in opposition); O’Neill supporter (always in same camp as O’Neill); Oppositionist (always in opposition); Swinging (supported Marape for PM, then supported VoNC, then back to Marape)


The graphs and tables show how MPs have shifted over time in the eleventh parliament (2022 to 2027). Data are so far available for the following points of time:

  • Jul-22: General elections
  • Aug-22: first government formation
  • Current (‘latest’): the latest available information


The graphs and tables show how MPs have shifted over time in the tenth parliament (2017 to 2022). Data are available for the following points of time:

  • Jul-17: General elections
  • Aug-17: first government formation
  • May-19: overthrow of O’Neill and election of Marape
  • Dec-20: VoNC in Marape
  • Feb-21: after the VoNC, which Marape survives
  • Jun-22: end of the 10th Parliament


The PNG MP Database is a project of the ANU-UPNG partnership between the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy and the UPNG School of Business and Public Policy. We gratefully acknowledge funding from the PNGAus Partnership, while acknowledging that the responsibility for the information and views presented lies wholly with the individuals involved.

We use data from a variety of sources to keep the MP Database as up to date as possible. Party affiliation is typically based on information from the MP themselves. The party may not be registered.

This is not an official or government site. Official information on which parties are registered, and which MPs are affiliated to them can be found on the Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates Commission website and on the PNG Parliament website.

This website, database and project are fully independent, unbiased, non-political and non-partisan. Its only purpose is to convey useful information and analysis to all who might be interested.

The PNG MP Database is brought to you by: Stephen Howes, Thomas Wangi, Alyssa Leng, Michael Kabuni, Maholopa Laveil, Kingtau Mambon, Geejay Milli and Terence Wood.

If you use the PNG MP Database, please use the following citation: ANU-UPNG Partnership (2023) PNG MP Database 2023, Development Policy Centre, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU and School of Business and Public Policy, UPNG,, [download date].

If you want information on the election of MPs (all the way back to independence), go to the PNG Elections Database.

All feedback welcomed. If you spot any mistakes or have any queries, please email